Police eased past First Light Taveuni 34-7 to win the Mana Whey Coral Coast Sevens at Lawaqa Park.

The lawmen added a third title to victories in 2014 and 2016 with a comprehensive victory in the final over the defending champions.

Police were in command from the opening whistle leading 17-7 at the break following tries to Sakeo Railoa, Saimoni Ratuisoa and Belasio Vukiwai

Railoa completed his hattrick and Ratuisoa bagged a second as Police doubled their score in the second term.

Police’s Sakeo Railoa was named Campese-Serevi medal winner as player of the tournament.

Captain Sitiveni Waqa said they delivered for their closest supporters when it mattered.

“We finished yesterday, went back and we’ve been talking. We made a lot of errors yesterday So we go back, we regroup again,” Waqa said. “We told each other today’s the last day so if we go back to Sigatoka we have to take something back home to family who home waiting for us.“

“It means a lot for the team especially for one of our colleagues who passed away last year . Since he has passed away we have not been playing any tournaments, so this win means a lot for us dedicated to him.”

Ravuka Sharks claimed their first silverware in Sigatoka with a narrow 12-10 win over Wardens in the Plate.

Meanwhile, two sponsor teams – Shangri-La and Outrigger – also took home their share of the $70,000 in prizemoney.

Almost 7,000 fans packed Lawaqa Park in the eighth edition of Fiji’s premier sevens tournament, watched on by former New Zealand captain DJ Forbes, referee Rasta Rasivhenge, Olympic-winning coach Ben Ryan and the King of Sevens Waisale Serevi.

“It is one of the best tournaments I’ve ever seen, well organised, games were so exciting right through from the first pool game through to the finals, Serevi said. “We now cannot predict which teams will win the tournament. The pool games is like quarter finals and semi finals standard. It’s getting tougher stronger and more exciting to watch.”

The semi-finals saw First Light Taveuni power past Ratu Filise securing 19-0 win while Police and McDonald’s Saunaka had a tougher battle with Police holding on for a single try win 12-7 to get to the final.

Wardens’ Asesela Ratudamu won the Jonah Lomu medal as top tryscorer with eight.


Police 34 First Light Taveuni 7

Semi Finals
First Light Taveuni 19 Ratu Filise 0
Police 12 McDonalds Saunaka 7

Quarter Finals
First Light Taveuni 17 Ravuka Sharks 12
Ratu Filise 17 Cross of Victory Taveuni 12
McDonalds Saunaka 19 Wardens 12
Police 29 Suva Stallions 7

Ravuka Sharks 12 Wardens 10

Shangri-La’s Daveta 12 SRS Henibua 7

Outrigger Beach Resort 19 Hong Kong 12

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *